test
HomeMARKETINGHow To Archive Your Social Posts And Why Do It

How To Archive Your Social Posts And Why Do It

An overview of the dangers you can run into if you don’t regularly archive old posts published on social media

Nowadays, what we do and what we like the most ends up in a flash on social networks with lots of posts that express ideas and personalities, loves and friendships, work and goals through comments, photos or videos. Social posts are a window into our lives; over time, they become open books on the past.

What drives us is the need to belong to a group or individual. Whether we like it or not, we all want to feel accepted and valued by people with whom we share the same values.

But the equation is simple: the longer we stay on a network, the more information can be gathered about us.

However, we should leave all shared content online for a while. Although it seems useless and boring, obscuring the contents scattered on the net is a practice to be carried out regularly and to preserve one’s privacy.

Some social networks offer a way to archive posts ( Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok do this ), but there are also third-party services that allow you to archive social posts that do not have this native function. The main one is called Jumpo Privacy. 

Let’s see why it’s good practice to archive social posts regularly and how you can do it quickly and easily.

Why Choose The Social Post Archive

But first, an important point needs to be addressed. If you choose to delete a post, it will disappear forever, while if you archive it, we can still access it at our discretion.

Regardless of why you decide to black a post, archiving it allows you to hide it from the main feed, timeline, and memories, but there is always the possibility of seeing it again.

That’s why it’s generally better to archive social posts than to delete them.

Archiving allows you to recover content at any time, which has been made invisible to the public but not to its creator.

If, after months or years, you feel like re-reading what you have shared, you need to access the social network again and ideally “pull out” the post. If deleted, however, it will no longer be possible to recover it.

Protect Your Identity From Prying Eyes

We usually publish a lot of content on social media, often enriching it with personal details: photos and videos of important moments in our lives such as graduation or wedding, images of the new car or family vacations.

With time and attention, anyone could reconstruct their identity and interests, mainly if we publish daily news about what we do or the places we go without much attention. 

For this, we could quickly become the victim of identity theft or a stalker, especially if the information does not enjoy any privacy filter.

With precise clues on date of birth, residence, family snapshots and activity indications, the package we provide to these criminals is practically complete.

When we share a post, we think we’re only doing it with friends and family, but indeed compared to five or ten years ago, our circle of friends has expanded, and maybe we’ve accepted a friend of a friend; we don’t even know as a friend or follower. 

We also forget those sites, apps or services we access with Facebook or Twitter credentials and give free access to all our data. 

By regularly archiving posts older than six months or a year, the data shared on the web is reduced too much less information about who we are, the details of our lives and habits.

To Ensure Everyone Gets The Right Idea

Identity theft, stalking, or sharing personal information with unauthorized parties aren’t the only things to worry about. 

We’ve all heard of people who were fired or missed an opportunity for shared tweets years ago, whether or not they were controversial topics at the time.

By keeping judgments and opinions in plain sight, sometimes the result of a moment’s disappointment, you risk putting a spanner in the works yourself, letting old outbursts draw completely erroneous contours about who we are.

The things we tweet today could cost us our jobs tomorrow, even if they’re not a big deal at the time.

It may seem far-fetched, but it’s more common than you think. The point is the posts we share today could turn against us in a few years. That’s why the advice is to archive older posts that are six months old or more.

Employers often check the candidates’ social channels for a complete picture of the character and type of individual with whom they will collaborate. By cleaning up old social posts, we can ensure that nothing we’ve said will compromise us. 

They say that once something is posted on the internet, it can never be deleted, but it is still possible to make it hard to find.

Preserving The Most Painful Memories

We have all faced difficult moments in life, and if we have shared them on social networks, the memories of these moments can continue to surface through the “Recollections” function. Every time Facebook re-proposes a shared post in a sad moment, it could be a real punch in the stomach.

We all love to review happy memories like birthday parties or vacations, while sad memories can be downright painful. Archiving or hiding some shared posts prevents unfortunate posts from appearing unexpectedly.

How To Archive Social Posts With Jumbo Privacy 

Jumbo Privacy is a platform that allows you to manage your online privacy on various social networks by automatically removing the oldest social posts based on a specific time interval, such as six months or a year. 

For example, on Facebook and Instagram, Jumpo Privacy allows you to delete old published posts, and on Alexa to delete registrations, home addresses, telephone numbers, and so on. Jumbo will automatically store the posts in local storage on our device.

Jumbo is ideal for social media that doesn’t offer an archiving feature and keeps all posts in one place.

The app also notifies you in real-time if some of your data (credit cards, passwords, etc.) has been compromised. The only downside is that if you delete the app or switch devices, the information stored there is lost. 

Fortunately, it is possible to perform a regular backup which will allow you not to lose anything. Jumbo offers a 7-day free trial and two subscription options: Plus, starting at $2.99/month, and Pro starting at $8.99/month. The app is available for iOS and Android.

ALSO READ: Social Media Management In 5 Simple Tips For Your Success

RELATED ARTICLES

RECENT ARTICLES